What is the purpose of liberal arts?

ngch

The Yale-NUS College is opening this year, and as a Singaporean I like to know, what is the purpose and relevance of a liberal arts degree?

Also, what are the reasons behind the criticisms (such as this) at this tie-up from the Yale faculty? I know it’s related to Singapore’s media censorship, lack of political freedom, and restrictions on staging political protests (one will need a police permit, go figure). But surely those are not the only reasons?

Liberal arts is a very new thing to Singapore since our major universities, such as NTU, NUS and SMU have always been focused on engineering, science and business. I’m an engineering undergraduate, so arts is an alien topic to me.
AaronMk
Lunar Supporter - Helped forge New Lunar Republic's freedom in the face of the Solar Empire's oppressive tyrannical regime (April Fools 2023).
Flower Trio - Helped others get their OC into the 2023 Derpibooru Collab.
Crystal Roseluck - Had their OC in the 2023 Derpibooru Collab.
Tree of Harmony - Drew someone's OC for the 2022 Community Collab
Elements of Harmony - Had an OC in the 2022 Community Collab
Non-Fungible Trixie -
Verified Pegasus - Show us your gorgeous wings!
Preenhub - We all know what you were up to this evening~
Philomena - For helping others attend the 2021 community collab
Twinkling Balloon - Took part in the 2021 community collab.

Sky funeral
I guess to somehow get around everything and survive in such an environment? Or… be aware enough to try and change it?

Really, reading on what Liberal Arts is in a basic sense (before now I figured it to be another art degree in a literal sense, derp) it sounds like something that should be taught more before the college/university level…
kruppenstein

I heard a joke on that issue somewhere:

“Where can you get a job with liberal arts degree?”  
“Everywhere! McDonald’s, Starbucks, Walmart…”
ngch

I heard a joke on that issue somewhere: